RSS

Pie, Tea & Cookies?!

14 Jul

Yesterday we set out (after eating Big Smoke Burgers, the best! Also formerly known as Craft Burger) to find Toronto’s best tea shop, aptly named House of Tea. And was it ever! Walls & walls of loose-leaf tea! I had come home to roost. The woman who runs the shop is very knowledgeable when it comes to tea, for instance: I had no idea that green tea leaves are not as processed and therefore should be steeped in water slightly cooler than boiling, otherwise the tea leaves get ruined (flavour-wise and nutrient-wise). And so far, yeah my tea tastes better (even tea that I did not purchase there). The tea itself was rather expensive, but very much so worth it. The mango green tea is to die for! She also gave me a sample of a rose & jasmine green tea that is equally as good. But it’s not just about the quality of the tea, it’s about the experience as a whole. The woman was so nice, she added to my tea drinking experience, giving me tips on how to properly store my tea as well. Before this I apparently was doing everything wrong, now I know 😉

What’s tea without some pie & cookies to go along with it? Wanda’s Pie in the Sky was voted best pie AND cookies in the city. Pie, yes. Cookie, no. The cookie was good, really good. But in the end it loses to Artisano’s pudding-based cookies (pudding!). The pie however, oh my. It was amazing. I had chocolate pecan pie, which was just as good as it sounds. Brent had the sour cherry pie, which I was wary of, but it was amazing. I have never been much of a pie person, especially fruit pies, but now I seem to be a convert. Thanks Wanda!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in Fooding

 

Leave a Reply

 
