RSS

New Plan- Polski Piątek

16 Oct

Every Friday I will instead bring you a wonderful Polish idiom, it’s english translation and then what the english (note: not English) equivalent is. And seeing as it is still the weekend, I can make up for it.

Here is my (delayed) first idiom:

Co ma piernik do wiatraka?
What has gingerbread to do with a windmill? (What has that to do with anything?)

(Thanks GoogleImages)

What were they thinking when they came up with this idiom? I know that (other than the above example) gingerbread has nothing to do with windmills… but how did someone even come up two such arbitrary words?! And then put them together like that? And this is just a taste of what is to come. Trust me, I have some even better ones up my sleeve.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 16, 2011 in Polski Piątek, Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
