RSS

*shudder*

22 Nov

I was watching TV the other night when I saw the most horrendous commercial my eyes have yet to behold. Now normally one could assume that this is just my flair for the literary dramatic, in my writing style. Not this time. This time it truly was a sight to see. The commercial started out fine, no big deal. It was just people finding alternate (and sometimes odd) uses for the Microsoft Kinect system.  There were musicians practicing invisible instruments, a child reading a book on a TV screen and a surgeon flipping through x-rays. But then things fell apart. It was awful and actually a little scary.

I am sorry but the idea of Kinect being used to guide a bomb diffusing robot scares the bejeesus out of me!! It could go so horribly horribly horribly wrong. It makes me shudder to think. Given the myriad of problems with multiple Xbox’s I have experienced in the past I can only imagine. I do not want to live in a world where Kinect is used to save. Well, I guess no one would survive when it (inevitably) went awry. But still. What next? Directing a robotic arm to do surgery via Kinect? Please no!!!

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
