RSS

What A Combo…

14 Dec

Today was a family day of sorts, everyone was free so we went to the Distillery District for the Christmas Market. For lunch we went settled for Mill St. Brewery Pub. I say settled because it was really busy and the service was slow. I was intrigued by the lobster grilled cheese but then Lucy mentioned having it and it not being that good, but I still could not get over it. I had been craving seafood for a few days now and it was a toss-up between it and an open-faced steak sandwich. The idea of eating a messy saucy open-faced sandwich in public weighed heavily in my decision… to get the lobster grilled cheese. Lucy’s complaint about it was that there was not enough lobster. That was not the case in my sandwich. The lobster to two types of cheese (cheddar and brie) ratio was equal. The lobster meat was sandwiched between the two cheeses. However the bread was too thick. There were parts where all I got was bread. I ended up leaving one last corner bite because it was just bread. The coleslaw between the sandwich and fries was gross. I really do think it was there solely as a decorative divider to keep the fries from touching the sandwich.

Full but still craving dessert, we went to Soma on my insistence. I was adamant about getting some hot chocolate, and I wouldn’t settle for anything less than the best. Did I mention it was freezing cold outside and I had not properly warmed up? Yep, could barely feel my toes. At Soma I had the Mayan hot chocolate. I barely looked at the ingredients list… which provided for a rather interesting surprise when I had my first sip and felt a burning at the back of my throat, a spicy burning not a hot burning. It was made with chili peppers and ginger and vanilla and cinnamon. A little too much of the chili peppers I’d say, kind of overpowered the drink as a whole. But definitely one of the best and most interesting hot chocolates I have ever had.

We stayed to watch some kids sing some Christmas songs. I stood there shivering, trying to drink my coffee in the rain. The coffee was from Balzac’s and it was really good, the right mix of nutty and strong flavour. Not enough to make it worthwhile to stand in the freezing cold and rain. My complaining won out and we left. Three hours later now… my toes are still icicles.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
