RSS

Near Embarassment & Ice Cream

27 Dec

Friday night I went out for dinner with Mike, after having watched The Muppets Movie (which was absolutely amazing!). We went to Beer Bistro after I mentioned that it was close by and that they have an amazing pulled pork sandwich (Mike’s eyes just lit up!). I had never been there for dinner so the menu was different. I was going to order whatever the cookbook was open to, which had worked out really well last time with the pulled pork. Alas, it was open to the Kobe beef tacos, which I had the first time I ate there. I was considering getting the rabbit pasta, but I was really intrigued by the steak tartare.

When it arrived it was so nicely arranged and fancy looking. Then I tore into it with my fork. I was mildly taken aback by the fact that the meat seemed, undercooked is not a strong enough word…. raw. It was raw. I continued eating it, trusting that the chef was not incompetent and that the waitress was in the back panicking and unsure of what to do. I wondered if it was supposed to be like that, so I just very slowly and cautiously ate it. As I later found out, that is indeed how it is supposed to be. So thankfully I did not totally embarrass myself.

I had mentioned in a text to Brent that I was at Beer Bistro and he replied “enjoy the fries” and I was a tad confused. Mike queried what was so good about the fries that he would say that. Somehow Mike and I ended up ordering and splitting a basket of fries. No complaints here. They were just as delicious as I remembered.

You would think after all that we would be stuffed. Almost. Mike kept talking about dessert an I just could not resist. I had to at the very least look over the dessert menu. And after having looked it over I would have been remiss had I not ordered something off of it. I was torn between the crème brûlée and the dragon stout & Skor bar ice cream. But I was strategic about it. I had the “beer scream” so that I could later gush about it to Brent. I was trying to secure another dinner date at a future point in time so that I could get the rabbit pasta and the crème brûlée next time. Genius. The ice cream itself was delicious. It still had a faint hint of fizziness from the beer and the Skor bar bits were more than plentiful.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
