RSS

By Proxy I Ate Some Carrots

30 Mar

Yesterday was my sister’s birthday so to celebrate we were going to go to Carole’s Cafe in Yorkville for some cheescake, given both my sisters have had as of late cravings for cheesecake. I was going to meet Camilla beforehand so we could squeeze in a little shopping and we decided to do lunch as well… at the Gallery Grill at Hart House because it conveniently fit into the schedule. Lucy ended up joining us as well. It was nice because now I got to try three different dishes, oh and it was a nice sisterly outing too as well.

Needless to say we did not fit in there. It was all hoity-toity uppity people in blazers and ties and there were in jeans carrying backpacks. It filled me with a rebellious giddiness to be there like that. The menu took some decoding, I got most of them right save for the fried haloumi which I thought, because it said fried and was an odd name, was a type of fish. The waitress informed us that it was in fact cheese. My bad.

I went for the rabbit meatballs which, because they were meatballs, I automatically assumed came with noodle. They came in a tomato sauce with what looked like giant fat noodles and tasted like sweet potatoes. When the waiter placed my dish down he said something about a “wascawee wabbit” and it made me giggle. And now I found out that those in fact were parsnips. I was tricked into eating parsnips. Camilla had the calamari schnitzel which was really good. But the stand-out was Lucy’s order of roasted pickerel. It was amazing, the fish just fell apart and was so tasty.

For dessert the three of us split a Hart House Farm Maple Syrup Creme Brulee and what a mouthful it was both to say and eat. We ordered it because the previous year we had been to Hart House Farm to watch them draw the sap from the trees so it only seemed fitting to indulge. Despite the fact that in a few hours we would be stuffing our faces with rich cheesecake. It was well-worth the punch to my pancreas. So far, this is the winner for best creme brulee. And it’s not one of those “best so far… but” and I add on some negative comments. The maple syrup was not overdone, just a touch of it for flavouring. The top was nicely burnt, not too much and not the cheaters way of just placing a caramel disc on top (just give up and call yourself a failure in that case, ok?).

When she gave us the dessert menu I noticed that they had a tea with organic gunpowder in it. Either that is quite the typo, something weird is going on or there is a poorly named flower/fruit out there.

I had been telling my sisters of Carole’s Cheesecake for so long now, telling them how creamy and delicious and just out-of-this-world amazing it is. I told them they had to try it, especially after they raved about cheesecake from, of all places, The Pickle Barrel (gross). They saw how right I (and everyone else for that matter, it has been voted best cheesecake in Toronto by multiple sources) was. Towards the end however I was starting to really feel it, I had to muster through the last little piece. I had decide to go all out and get the rocky road cheesecake. At the time it seemed like a good idea, and don’t get me wrong, it was delicious. It was just a lot to take in all at once. Needless to say I was feeling a mighty strong sugar-high after that. I came crashing down right around the time that class started.

And I would do it all again in a heartbeat.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
