RSS

My Dogs Are Barking

10 Jun

I should not have listened to the weather report. It said rain. It said thunder. So I wore no sunscreen and my crappy sandals (lest I ruin my leather ones). I am now sunburnt and my feet hurt.

I should not have said anything. I called Brent from Queen St. and told him to meet me so we could continue along to St. Lawrence Market to have the best peameal bacon sandwich for lunch. I had my motives for this, which became clear as we got closer. I had wanted to pass by LuminatTO and see what was going on. But that was not all. At St. Lawrence there just happened to be a dog festival going. And I just so happen to have known about it. I should not have told him, it would have been hilarious to watch how long it took him to figure it out, for as we got closer there were more and more dogs.

The sandwich was just what I needed, for at that point I had been walking for about 2 and a half hours or so? Straight from my house to St. Lawrence, no pit stops. Along the way at Sunnyside I passed by a canoe & kayak festival, Paddlefest and got some free granola bar samples. But that is nowhere near enough food, even when lacking an appetite. The sandwich was enormous, a giant kaiser generously filled with salty peameal bacon, just meat, nothing else. That is how a sandwich ought to be.

As we walked along King Street I mentioned how I had looked online and that the cookie thing that Brent had intended to order at La Merceria was in fact what was in that jar, that I had initially thought was it. So we popped in there along the way for a little dessert snack to tide us over. (At this point I had been walking for close to 4 hours).

If you are keeping count, that is three festivals so far (Paddlefest, LuminaTO, and Woofstock). On our way back, cutting through Trinity Bellwoods I saw some inflatable bouncy castles off in the distance and demanded we head that way. It was a Portugal Party for the Eurocup. Not terribly interesting. By far the winner of the day was Woofstock. The street had actually been blocked off for all the dogs. Never have I seen so many dogs in one place, so many different sized dogs. We wondered aloud, how quick one dog barking would get the whole crowd of dogs barking or how quick a dog parade would form of one dog sniffing another’s butt, a conga line of dog’s sniffing butts.

(Portugal Party)

(Paddlefest, as I walked home… bringing my total walking time to just short of six hours.)

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
