RSS

Winterlicious Fancy-Pants

31 Jan

It’s that time of year again when the restaurants roll out the prix fixe menus and the hungry hoards descend. I was adamant about eating out somewhere this year for Winterlicious. I had my eye on Sassafraz in particular. One of the most popular and famous restaurants in the city, having had many now-famous chefs pass through the kitchen (as I learned in doing research during my summer internship)- I was hellbent on eating there one day. And Winterlicious made it that much easier. What’s not to love about it? A 3 course meal at a fancy restaurant for a cheaper price? Plus we had the best seats in the restaurant in  a nice cozy corner. We did look over the regular menu, but the items on Winterlicious were so tempting. There was quite a bit of debate but eventually we figured it out.

To start I had the red-wine braised octopus with tomaotes and Brent had the cauliflower and brussel sprouts. There was no way we were going to trade dishes halfway through. I did eventually cave and eat a brussel sprout and a piece of cauliflower. And my compliments to the chef, I actually enjoyed both- another first for me. What made it good was the sauce and the addition of curry. I even ate the tomatoes on my octopus.

The mains we did swap halfway through. The sirloin steak surprisingly beat out the duck leg confit, but it was pretty close. The duck meat was just falling off the bone and so succulent. Dessert was a chocolate cake with marshmallow fluff, of which Brent ate none, having not realized it was there. Ha. And apple compote with oat crumbs and a scoop of maple ice cream. Hands-down the winner of the night. The apple pieces were so soft and still warm, a nice contrast to the cold ice cream and the crunchy oats.

And it’s not Winterlicious if you don’t order the special menu drink. I had the Evergreen which was gin, elderberry liquer, apple juice and ginger ale. This is one I am going to have to remember and make from now on.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
