RSS

Anniversary Special

12 Mar

What to do to celebrate a 6 year anniversary? Why not take the opportunity to knock three things off my Pinterest cooking board?! Yup. That was my lofty goal for the day. To cook a dinner , a side and a dessert. How hard can that possibly be? Not at all, it is however rather time-consuming given everything on my menu needed time to marinate or cool down. Brent came in the door as I was trying to figure out if the frying pan was hot enough. He said that he could smell dessert from the hallway. I usually accidentally give it away by posting about it before he gets home.

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (20)

For the main course I fried up some steaks. I had found a recipe for a simple steak marinade on Pinterst: fill a 1.5 oz shot glass with half vinegar, half whisky and let the steaks marinate for half an hour to an hour. Easy enough. The trouble came when I tried to go to the original page for instructions on how to cook the steak. The page was gone. I had to find a Wikihow with instructions on cooking steak. I was in uncharted territory. Thankfully they turned out alright.But a pan-fried steak does not hold a candle to a grilled steak, it’s not even close.

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (14)

For the side-dish I decided to use a recipe I found on The Porta Bella’s website for sweet potato wedges (as Brent eats sweet potatoes daily). It is a very simple recipe and for once I actually had all the necessary ingredients! (That never happens). And they turned out delicious! The oven baking gave them a nice crispy outside, as I did not peel them. The one problem is that sweet potatoes are impossible to cut- while struggling to cut them into slices I managed to drop the cutting board on my toe. It hurt like hell.

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (15)

For dessert I decided to splurge and go for something truly decadent. Chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes. The website did not provide a recipe for the cupcake base, just the idea of dropping a ball of cookie dough into the cupcake batter before baking. I found another recipe for simple chocolate cupcakes. (Which has now become one of my new go-to recipes, along with the sweet potato wedges). The cupcakes were simple to make and not that unhealthy, as there is only 3 tablespoons of butter in the batter, not the usual 1-2 cups. The cupcake batter used up my last two eggs, and given that we are leaving for California on Friday I was not about to go out and buy a carton (not even a half-carton) of eggs. So I opted for Pillsbury cookie dough (it’s not cheating because I made the cupcake batter myself). I rolled the dough into tiny little balls- felt like I was making cookies for mice- and let them sit in the freezer for a bit.

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (1)

As it turns out a ladle is a great kitchen item to have when making cupcakes. While shopping for the new home I bought everything under the sun, including a muffin tray- but no ladle. Add that to my list for next time. I had to resort to using one of my measuring spoons to fill the muffin liners as a spoon was inadequate and inefficient. It was a deliciously messy affair with as much batter getting on the counters, stove, muffin pan and me as in the liners themselves. Another great item for the kitchen is a mixer, because trying to cream the butter and sugar with a spoon until it is “fluffy” is way too hard.

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (4)

While I had been at No Frills shopping for the dinner I could not resist the idea of truly epically going all out on the cupcakes. For the icing I bought Fluffernutter (as in marshmallow whip!) and mini M&Ms to sprinkle on top of the marshmallow goop. And just to really top it off I bought caramel syrup to drizzle over top of that (and there were a few recipes I saw on Pinterest while browsing for today that require a caramel drizzle, so look for that soon).

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (7)

So how did the cupcakes turn out? Un-freakin-believable. The cupcake part itself was amazing (a definite keeper in the recipe book), the cookie dough part was a nice delicious surprise and the marshmallow fluff was sticky and delicious. The M&Ms on top added a nice crunch to counter the mush of the marshmallow and cake. The marshmallow fluff also served to cover up the cookie dough showing through the top so that when Brent bit into it he did not expect the cookie part. It was funny.

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (10)

I now have a half roll of cookie dough in my freezer. Ok fine, less than half, I indulged. However I intend to make smores cookies tomorrow with it. Lest it all get eaten by then. It better not. I better come home to find the same amount of cookie dough that is there now.

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (18)

Project 12- ann dinner- whisky vinegar steak, sweet potato wedges, cookie dough cupcakes (3)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 12, 2013 in I Will One Day Attempt To Make This

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Anniversary Special

  1. The Porto Bellas

    March 13, 2013 at 2:03 am

    Yay!! So happy you enjoyed them!! Yay to healthy french fries. PS. Your meal looks delicious!
    -JulieC

     

Leave a Reply

 
