RSS

Sugar Cookies

10 Apr

After a week and a half hiatus from the kitchen due to baking-rage I finally picked up my wooden spoon and ventured back in. I went in too soon.

I was still suffering some major cookie cravings and had recently found a recipe for super soft sugar cookies that I thought I could try my hand at. Before I even got to start already I encountered a problem: I had no sour cream. I Googled it looking for another recipe for super soft sugar cookies. They ALL called for sour cream. I scoured my Pinterest board for another cookie recipe. I almost settled for vanilla-almond sugar cookies without the almond but then I decided to look for alternatives to sour cream (as I was too lazy to go across the street to buy some). The one I settled for was adding a drop of lemon juice to the milk. As I was wary of this, I decided to make a half batch. Good thing I did, given that they turned out not at all how I had expected.

Project 14- Super soft sugar cookies (5)

The dough was delicious, I could not stop sneaking bites. The first batch I made as little round balls, having stopped reading the recipe after the ingredients. Apparently I could not have erred more greatly. After I pulled my round puff cookies to of the oven I went back to the recipe. Oops, I was supposed to roll the dough out flat. Kind of hard to do without a rolling pin. I had managed to make a few of them with my cookie cutter (by spraying it with non-stick spray) but it was too much effort, as the dough was super sticky (even after ONE hour in the fridge and one in the freezer). The cookies also tasted a bit bland.

Project 14- Super soft sugar cookies (7)

For the second round I flattened them as best as I could and sprinkled them with cinnamon and brown sugar. This barely affected the taste. In the end I realized: they taste like animal cookies. I was mad, still am mad. I do not want animal cookies. I wanted sugar cookies.

I give up temporarily until I figure this out. It is driving me nuts. In the meantime I will stick the sugar cookie recipe that has always proved successful for me:

Cinnamon Sugar Cookies (adapted from Reader’s Digest cookbook):

1/2 cup butter softened1 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1+1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon cinnamon

beat margarine and sugar. Beat in egg and vanilla until smooth. Add baking soda, baking powder and half the flour. Beat until smooth & fluffy, add rest of flour. Bake at 375F 10-12mins.

This recipe has yet to fail me.

 
 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
