RSS

Burritos!

23 Apr

If you know me, you know that I am not a big fan of beans- and that is an understatement. Thus I tend to avoid foods such as chili and burritos, in that beans are a major component. Last time I got lucky when best burritos in the city offered the option of edamame beans. This time I was not so lucky.

Fat Bastard burrito- best late night burrito (1)

Fat Bastard Burrito was voted best late night burrito and in keeping with our late night Friday foodings it was the perfect choice: it was a 15 minute walk away from our current place (we are moving next week). I went there with the mindset that I would just order it without the beans (yes, I can hear you burrito enthusiasts gasping at the horror). The menu was daunting, so many choices! I decided on the baja chipotle chicken, partly because it was fun to say. Brent had the less-fun-to-say buffalo chicken. As i watched them prepare his burrito (he had ordered the works) I noticed that the beans were in a paste form. Somehow this seemed less gross to me and I found myself also getting the works. This included but was not limited to lettuce and chives. I was a little bit worried to say the least.

Fat Bastard burrito- best late night burrito (2)

One bite and I was hooked. The beans and chives were buried deep inside, mixed with all the other toppings in one giant delicious mess. And I mean giant. I ordered the smallest size (tiny) and it was still a behemoth of a burrito. As is the norm, mine was the better choice as it had a spicy kick to it thanks to the chipotle sauce.

You can’t eat a burrito without drinking Jarrito. This time we had lime and it further cemented my new-found love affair with the soda. I have yet to meet a flavour I did not like, partly because I refuse to try the pineapple flavour and as far as I am concerned it does not exist.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
