RSS

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes & Failed Jello-Poke-Cake

13 Jul

Years ago I had tried to make a Jello poke cake but it failed epically. I had disregarded the part of the recipe that said to use a cake mix that was pudding based. I could not find one, and just used a regular mix. The cake just got soaked with the Jello. The pudding was so that the cake would not absorb all the Jello, leaving little bubbles of it throughout.

I recently found a box of pudding-based cake mix and I had to buy it. We were going to visit our friends and I thought this would be a great opportunity to make it. It failed miserably. All I know is don’t buy Dr. Oetker cake mixes, bleh. It came out a weird, lumpy sopping mess. It is really difficult to screw up adding JUST WATER AND 1 EGG. I tossed it, but my craving for baking was still nagging at me. I had just bought a whole carton of eggs and I was craving something delicious.

Snickerdoodle cupcakes to the rescue! Only I had enough margarine for a half batch, complicated math ensued such as what is half of 1 3/4 cup? It was bad. I crossed my fingers and hoped for the best. They weren’t terrible, just small and sort of dense. The key thing is: they tasted good. That is all that matters, however these are begging for a re-do, a proper one.

Project 33- Martha Stewart snickerdoodle cupcakes (1)

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
