RSS

Mangled Cornish Hen Anyone?

09 Sep

Project 45- roasted cornish game hens  (1)

A long time ago I had spotted what looked like the cutest little roast chicken ever- it was a cornish hen. I made a mental note of it and decided that one day I would cook one of those lil suckers. That day finally came when I went to No Frills and the only chicken they had was ground chicken, so I opted for a cornish hen instead (basically a mini-chicken). It was so small, how hard could it be? After browsing through recipes until I came across one that did not involve using kitchen shears to “remove the spine” (shudder) I finally found a reasonable one at the Food Network website: Roasted Cornish Game Hens. Season the chicken, stuff it with onions and veggies, cook it. Voila, easy as pie. No.

Project 45- roasted cornish game hens  (2)

 

Project 45- roasted cornish game hens  (3)

To start with, I decided to cut slits in the skin and peel it back a bit to season the meat itself (I had no intention of eating the chicken skin, bleh). It quickly took on a rather horrific look, no matter, I wrapped it in foil and stuck in the oven. An hour passed and I checked on it, it looked cooked, I did not have a meat thermometer to verify though. I started to cutting it into four quarters when I realized that inside it was still pink… and a bit bloody. It had cooked for an hour!!!

Project 45- roasted cornish game hens  (5)

Project 45- roasted cornish game hens  (6)

I threw it back in the oven for another half hour, should be enough right? Nope. As I cut further in I had the same problem. That was it the (oven) gloves were off. I grabbed a knife and started carving angrily. An hour and a half and still not cooked?! I made a mini-bowl out of tinfoil and tossed the chicken pieces in it, added some more spices and the red pepper and garlic bits from inside the hen, wrapped it up, shook ti a bit and put it in the oven for another 20 minutes- finally I had some cooked chicken emerging from the oven. After almost two hours of cooking mind you.

Project 45- roasted cornish game hens  (7)

 

Project 45- roasted cornish game hens  (8)

There, I did it. I cooked a cornish hen… and I will never, ever in my life do it again. Ever.     

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 9, 2013 in I Will One Day Attempt To Make This

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Mangled Cornish Hen Anyone?

  1. barbecue thermometer

    July 23, 2015 at 5:11 pm

    I need to to thank you for this very good read!! I definitely enjoyed every
    bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new things you post…

     

Leave a Reply

 
