RSS

Cookies!!!

08 Apr

What happens when you want the decadence of cake but the convenience of a cookie? You get cake batter chocolate chip cookies from the genius at Sally’s Baking Addiction. The Gaming Olympics were confirmed for the weekend and my sweet tooth would not let the occasion (fine, excuse) for baked treats to pass. I have been hiding a can of pumpkin puree in my cupboard, but there was no way I was going to make pumpkin cookies lest they all get eaten (the pumpkin blondies from last fall are easily one of the best desserts I have ever had). The only other thing I could remember from further down my Pinterest board was the cake batter cookies. Notice how I missed something there. I was at the bulk food store and I remembered to buy powdered cake mix and sprinkles. Only when I got home and looked up the recipe did I realize that I had forgotten a key component to the cookies: chocolate chips. Swearing under my breath I dragged my tired self to Shoppers Drug Mart, provider of emergency baking goods.

846715fcbc5111e3a7ee125b385f7646_8

I felt a lot better after a few handfuls of chocolate chips. Alas my “bake a few test cookies and eat them to make sure I won’t poison my guests” test had to done the next day: it was recommended to refrigerate the cookie dough overnight*- I still snuck a few spoonfuls of dough though. Even with not having the full amount of cake mix (which was used to replace some of the flour so I adjusted accordingly) and running out of margarine (I had to sub in 2 tablespoons of Greek yogurt) they turned out amazing! We had eaten half the batch when my sister saw the photo and Facebook and begged me to bring her a few. I grabbed a few and ran off to stash them for the next day. These are easily some of the best (non-Tollhouse/Martha Stewart) cookies I have ever made. And it’s no wonder, Sally is the same genius who brought us the Reese’s stuffed cookies.

e960d22ebcea11e3b7060002c99af52c_8

This recipe is easy, delicious and a definite keeper. Plus the cookies just look amazing, so colourful with all the sprinkles. Plus cake batter makes everything better from ice cream to rice krispie squares.

 

* I am now sold on this method, but I will probably stick to baking a few: who can wait overnight for cookies?!

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
