RSS

RagePops

20 Jun

Lately I have been making long-forgotten recipes from the bottom of my Pinterest board. Given that we were having people over this weekend, I thought it was the perfect opportunity to make cakepop, especially given I was on a roll in the kitchen as of late. I had a recipe for Tiramisiu cakepops, which required a mocha cake as the base. I just so happened to also have a recipe from Martha Stewart on my board for Irish Coffee cupcakes, but apparently the Irish whiskey icing was horrible… a perfect excuse to use the recipe as a base for my cakepops! Two birds with one stone!

The cupcakes tasted like pancakes which was weirdly good. I felt kind of bad wrecking the cake by breaking it into pieces and throwing it into my little food chopper. Things were going good, the cake had turned out. My chopper could handle the cake, albeit in small batches. Then came time to mix in the icing, I was wary of this given the cupcake recipe failed to give any measurements. I switched to another recipe for a similar cakepop. It said 1 cup of icing, which is about what I had guesstimated I would need (how do you measure out 1 cup at Bulk Barn other than guesstimating?). Then came the (first) moment of truth: forming the cake + icing concoction into balls. Success!!! It worked!!! I set them in the freezer for longer than the recommended 5-10 minutes just to be on the safe side, given how well things were going I did not want it to flop.

Then came the second moment of truth, the quintessential essence of the cakepop: the chocolate coating. I was about to screw this up so I followed directions from a cookbook for this part, it seemed foolproof. I set a metal bowl over a pot of boiling water and set the white chocolate to melt in the bowl. All was still going well… until I tried to roll the damn cakeball in the chocolate. Things fell apart, metaphorically, thankfully not literally.  They looked awful! And I had nothing to hold them while they set.

927091_1420494174899937_2100835671_n

Homemade cakepops are not a good idea. I will be avoiding chocolate-coated recipes from now on.

I did test eat one and it made my stomach hurt, but I am not sure if that was just my kitchen rage or the cakepop itself.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 20, 2014 in I Will One Day Attempt To Make This

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “RagePops

  1. Ania TastyQuery

    June 21, 2014 at 1:20 pm

    Hello!

    I saw your blog and thought it had great recipes and awesome pictures! I therefore would like to invite you to our new culinary website which has just started.

    This is how it works in short. TastyQuery.com is a website for food bloggers and their fans allowing them to automatically collect recipes from your food blog. It’s a large database of links to recipes on food blogs. Everyone can join us for free.

    For more please visit:
    http://tastyquery.com

    TastyQuery.com is an English version of our main website called “Mikser Kulinarny”, founded in Poland. “Mikser Kulinarny” has a large audience (over 2 mln unique visitors monthly) and with TastyQuery.com we want to repeat that success and drive thousands of new visitors to your food blog.

    In case of any questions, don’t hesitate to contact us.

    best regards

    Ania, TastyQuery.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
