RSS

News From The Kitchen!

10 Jan

I’ve fallen behind on reporting on my various and varied kitchen escapades, so in no particular order here is a run-down of what’s been happening since… October? Oh God I fell really far behind…

Martha Stewart’s One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes adapted for Spider Mini-Cupcakes recipe:

It turns out that when you’re making mini-cupcakes you should pay attention to the yield of the recipe. Having an abundance of mini-cupcakes is much more daunting, you eat three… and it barely makes a ding in your inventory. The cupcakes turned out delicious, that was not the problem. I had made the mini-cupcakes for our Halloween party. The plan was to decorate them and make mini-pumpkins, cute right? Well by about a quarter of the way through I was sick of it. Halfway through I ran out of icing, having used up an entire can of it! Needless to say, this is a labour-intensive process, save it for fancy parties. The base recipe however is simple, as the title implies.

IMG_20141031_163300

Martha Stewart’s Devilish Eggs

Again, I made these for the Halloween party. These are time-consuming, as you have to leave them in the fridge and wait while the filling sets. Cutting the red pepper and green onions into the decorations is tedious yes, but it looks really good afterwards. That being said, once these have been out of the fridge, say on the counter for serving, they will start to turn into a mess as the filling slides out and onto the plate. They are also a mess to eat, a very tasty delicious mess.

IMG_20141031_152358

Chopped Corn Salad

Don’t use unripe avocados for this, they may be easier to cut but damn do they taste awful. Well, to me they did, everyone else seemed to not notice. This salad takes a long time to chop, only make it if you have time or better yet: a slap chop. I think next time I will swap in green peppers for the avocado.

IMG_20141031_151026

Sweet Potato Ginger Soup

I was going to have my wisdom teeth removed, in preparation I made sweet potato ginger soup. It was a disaster. Lacking fresh ginger, I just assumed I could sub in ginger powder instead. What I did not know is that 2tbsp of fresh ground ginger and 2tbsp ginger powder are nowhere near the same. It was overly powerful and unbearable. I ended up making a second batch, which worked out well given I ended up using the rest of the carrots. This time I added no seasonings and mixed the two together… it was still a little too ginger-y for my tastes. However I like the base of the soup, carrots and sweet potatoes. The recipe is a keeper if modified with much less ginger. Even if it looks like baby food/mush.

carrot ginger sweet potato soup (4)

Martha Stewart’s Classic Meatloaf

Ground turkey was on sale one day and I found myself with two pounds of it. Not wanting to make chili again, I opted for making a turkey meatloaf. I turned once again to Martha Stewart for help. I found a decent sounding recipe… which I only barely followed. First off, I only used turkey as opposed to beef, pork and veal. I also lacked Worcestershire sauce, so I added some more salt. Rather than making a glaze to put on top, I just mixed the ingredients in. Instead of making bread crumbs I used the ones I already had. At some point I was wary of how it would turn out, there are a lot of shredded carrots in the recipe. It turned out delicious, a little bit sweet (the carrots did not help in that department) but it makes for a good dinner. A lot of dinners actually. I cut it up into easy-to-serve-for-one slices and wound up with about 10 dinners worth of meatloaf. Not bad for under $20.

Martha Stewart basic meatloaf (2)

Lessons learned? Of course! For one thing you cannot sub out fresh ginger and use ground ginger in the same amount. Even if you freeze an onion and then chop it, it will still make you cry. Meatloaf is so easy to make! Not fully ripe avocados might be easier to chop but they taste horrible.

Bonus! A recipe from my kitchen! Made up (mostly) by me! In the spirit of trying to eat healthier I endeavored to cook up beans as a side dish for my dinners.

Slow-Cooked Taco Beans

Mix together Taco Seasoning:

  • 2 teaspoons hot chili powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, or to taste
  • 1 pinch cayenne pepper, or to taste (optional)
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes, or to taste

Add 2 cans of beans (800mL total)
2 cups of chicken stock
1 yield of taco seasoning

Slow-cook on high for 4 hours or so. Enjoy! Am I not a brilliant genius?

 

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
