RSS

Veggie Burger

10 Jan

We usually tend to go out on Wednesday nights, its conveniently in the middle of the week and hence not too busy. Not much will keep us from going out… not even an extreme cold weather alert. We bundled up in layers upon layers topped with scarves wrapped around our faces and braved the Canadian cold. All in the name of going out for… best veggie burgers. There is more to it than that. You see, I have passed this BBQ joint on the Danforth a few times before, and it smelled to high heaven of slow-cooked meat. I had been wanting to go there for a while, and now we had even more reason! If it had been a vegetarian restaurant I would have said let’s go on the weekend when it’s not as cold. But the promise of going to Greenwood Smokehouse (even though it is not near Greenwood, it is nearer to Pape subway station, odd) was enough to get me out from under my blanket cocoon (I had been snuggled up warm and watching, ok binge-watching, Revenge).

It was a pretty quick decision what we were getting as our other dish: ribs of course! As soon as we walked in, we were hit with the warm inviting smell of barbecued meat. It was intoxicating and just what we needed after a grueling 40 minute walk in -16C weather (made all the colder with the damn windchill). I had my heart set on ordering a smoked lemonade with Four Roses bourbon, alas they were all sold out of the smoked lemonade (to this day I am still curious about what it tastes like, so I guess I will just have to go back there again). I settled for a bourbon sour and migawd it was delicious.

IMG_20150107_191039

After we placed our order we were sitting and talking when Brent realized, the kitchen staff (not hidden off somewhere, but upfront in the restaurant) were bemused by the veggie burger order. I laughed at Brent, at the predicament of going to a smoked-meat bbq restaurant and ordering a veggie burger. I joked that he should have ordered a side bowl of meat. The veggie burger was delicious, it was a patty made up of ground mushrooms (as opposed to tofu, which I doubt I will ever end up liking) and topped with pineapple avocado salsa. We had decided on a half rack of ribs, and if we were still hungry then we could just order more food. Thank goodness we only got the half rack, it was enormous. And not just enormous in terms of ribs-enormous (i.e.: giant bones), no, the bones were relatively few and small. There was so much meat on those bones, it was unbelievable. I have never had such meat-y ribs in my life! It made up for the glaze being average.

IMG_20150107_193653

Even though I was fairly stuffed, I could not turn down a chance to eat: deep-dish pecan bourbon pie. It was amazing, I did not know that pecan pie (of which I already had a high opinion, it being my go-to pie) could taste that much more delicious!! The only downside was that I was way too full to go a few doors down to Von Doughnuts  for a secondary dessert (something whihc is not completely unheard of).

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
