RSS

Jammin’

28 Mar

It’s that time of year again. No, I am not using this as an opportunity to complain about allergies. It’s the beginning of jamming season!!! I messed up last year and missed the window to gather supplies. Not so this time, I was on it. I had set my sights on a beauty of a canning stockpot at Canadian Tire. It actually turned out to be far too big for me and I had to get a smaller one.

That being said, my first preserves project of the year was done using the slow-cooker. Apple butter. Because, you know, apples, spring etc.. Right? I wanted to start the season off right with something easy. The slow-cooker did all the work, it had to go over night (the recipe calls for a 12hour cook-time). The recipe called for filling the slow-cooker with sliced apples, add some cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg and top it all off with apple juice or apple cider. Or if you are me, apple cider.. vinegar. Thankfully I put only a little bit, as I found it an odd addition. Only later did I go back to the recipe once the house started smelling of vinegar and I realized my mistake. Oops. Thankfully I managed to rescue it. I added some brown sugar as a precaution.

10946666_901391179883365_1985426910_n

If I hadn’t told you, you would never have known. You cannot discern the taste. Now to make some fresh bread to go with my apple butter.

 
 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
