RSS

Wafflepalooza

09 Jul

Because we are leaving on vacation, we crammed two fooding expeditions into one week. We were headed towards Etobicoke to catch a ride with a friend of ours to another friend’s wedding. It only made sense to walk partway, stop for breakfast and then transit the rest of the way. Starving Artist had opened another location since Brent had made his fooding map (yes, he made an actual map), conveniently at Ossington and College. I was very excited about our breakfast of the best waffles. I loved waffles before, but since we went to Belgium I fell even more in love with them (yes, it is possible).

The night before we looked up the menu and there were so many good options. I kept changing my mind, which led to far too many “waffling” jokes. I was torn between getting the grilled cheese (how intriguing!) and the french toast (a waffle with the goodness of french toast! win win!). I found a compromise: the croque monsieur waffle was two french toasted waffles sandwiching ham and cheese! While it seemed like a great idea on paper.. in reality it was too much. The sweetness of the powedered sugar on the waffles did not go so well with the cheese. There was far too much ham in the sandwich. The french toast part barely came through, I had been expecting an eggy, greasy sopping waffle, not one that needed dipping in maple syrup. I ended up deconstructing the waffle-wich and eating it in parts which was fine for the most part. Except after a while I got sick of the ham. Deli meat warmed up is not always so great. We ordered waffle bacon on the side as well. This was the clear winner. Simple yet elegant, brilliant really: strips of bacon baked into waffle batter.

Unfortunately I was too full for a dessert waffle. I thought the sandwich would be much smaller. I had been anticipating ordering a mini dessert waffle to finish off the breakfast. Needless to say I was too full, even though the caramel pecan sounded so temptingly delicious. I have only confirmed my suspicions from last summer: waffles are best served sweet, no more mucking about. Having not tried the sweet versions of their waffles, it is a tough call to say whether or not these really are the bset waffles in the city. Smith had good waffles, as did Auntie’s and Uncle’s. Starving Artist has the novelty aspect though.

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
