RSS

Homemade BBQ Sauce

01 Oct

In my home-made DIY phase I decided to spend a Saturday evening in the kitchen making, of all things, barbecue sauce. Bourbon Barbecue Sauce to be exact. This was about as far removed from anything I had ever done in the kitchen. From the start we had troubles. I had only about 2 shot glasses worth of bourbon left, Canadian Club whisky would have to do (I need a full cup). Then I ran out of ketchup, 1 1/2 cup quickly became 1/2 cup and the rest was what was leftover after 2 tablespoons of tomato paste.

I figured out the most brilliant way to chop onions, no tears, no grunt work. Freeze them. Then do not thaw them, just hack them into manageable chunks and toss them in an electric chopper. Voila, chopped onions. I do not recommend leaning over the pot as the whisky and onions boil. I also learned the hard way to put a lid on it when it simmers. I heard popping noises and when I came over I saw it was exploding and leaving little spots of sauce all over the stove.

How did the modified sauce come out? A little but on the tomato-ey side flavour wise, but still good. Will I be making it regularly? No. It is too much work.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
