RSS

Aces!

15 Nov

The Ace on Roncesvalles was apparently voted best family friendly restaurant, so in retrospect it makes sense that I would invite my sister to dinner with us before we all went to the Polish film festival Ekran. The restaurant is a small dimly lit bar-seeming-place, I did not see a single kid in there or any evidence that any had been there.

We ordered the steak frites and the fried chicken and traded halfway. The fries were amazing and managed not to get soggy from the jus accompanying the steak. I was not as impressed with the fried chicken, which was surprisingly lacking in grease.

The clear winner of the night was the hot apple cider with Maker’s Mark bourbon. The cocktail came in two price points, the more expensive one had the fancier base alcohol of which you could choose. The Ace had an amazing list of cocktails, of which I tried no others. I loved the apple cider so much I ordered a second one, this time with El Dorado 12 Year Rum. Sitting there, drinking our alcoholic drinks by dim candlelight… looking back, it does not seem like somewhere to take the kids. But then again, how would I know? Now I need to recruit some kids and go back.

 

Leave a Reply

 
